Found on Reddit (r/TheHandmaidsTale)

... And blessed are those who suffer for the cause of righteousness for theirs is the kingdom of heaven (Matthew, 5:10)[1]. Welcome to the community-run wiki for fans of The Handmaid's Tale, Margaret Atwood's best-selling novel and Hulu's drama series The Handmaid's Tale (TV series), based on the novel.

The Handmaid's Tale Wiki is a collaborative encyclopaedia about the novel and Hulu drama series that anyone can edit. We are currently editing over 536 articles, and 843 files, and you can help!


"Some might call the overthrowing of an illegitimate government an act of treason. But loyalty to a higher truth is not treason.” - Commander Judd[2]
The_Handmaid's_Tale_4x08_Promo_"Testimony"_(HD)
.


The-handmaids-tale-characters.png


What-handmaids-tale-about.png
The-handmaids-tale-book.jpg

The Handmaid's Tale is a dystopian/speculative fiction novel by Margaret Atwood, first published in 1985.

The novel revolves around a woman named Offred, and her struggle to survive in a totalitarian theocracy known as the Republic of Gilead, which has replaced the United States of America, and explores themes such as religious fundamentalism, political censorship and oppression, sexism and gender roles, and more.

The-handmaids-tale-poster.jpg

The Handmaid's Tale is a 4-season dystopian drama series on Hulu.

Starring Elisabeth Moss, Ann Dowd, Joseph Fiennes, and Yvonne Strahovski, The Handmaid's Tale's dystopian narrative sets itself in the fictional Republic of Gilead, an authoritarian theocracy which comes to power in the United States of America.

Based on the novel by Margaret Atwood, The Handmaid’s Tale follows handmaid Offred (played by Moss), who is forced into subjugation in an attempt to repopulate the fictional, male-dominated society of Gilead.

The-handmaids-tale-video-gallery.png
The Handmaid’s Tale Season 2 First Look (Official) • Only on Hulu The Handmaid’s Tale Season 2 Teaser (Official) • The Handmaid's Tale on Hulu
Her Story is Our Story (Official) • The Handmaid's Tale on Hulu My Name is Offred (Official) • The Handmaid's Tale on Hulu
The Handmaid's Tale First-Look Teaser (Official) • The Handmaid's Tale on Hulu



GeneralLitFooter.png
General Literature

Go to these sites for info or for help with your own wiki!

BourneFifty Shades of GreyThe Handmaid's TaleIn DeathJames BondJurassic ParkThe Last KingdomLeft BehindLes MisérablesOutlanderSherlock HolmesWatership Down

Want your community included? See how!

Literature Wordmark.png

  1. June quoting Matthew, 5:10; in Episode 1.3, Late
  2. To Aunt Lydia, in XI Sackcloth
Community content is available under CC-BY-SA unless otherwise noted.